“What Cancer Cannot Do” Quilt

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. A friend of mine, Christa Floresca, from high school is the Founder and President of PINK JAMS, a non-profit organization that raises money for breast cancer awareness. Christa works tirelessly for what she believes in and I admire her tenacity and drive that helps make PINK JAMS a successful and valuable organization.

I wanted to join in the effort and make something that PINK JAMS can either auction or raffle off at their upcoming 2nd Annual Under 40 Music Marathon at the Hard Rock Cafe Washington, D.C. However the PINK JAMS Board decides to use the quilt to raise money, I feel confident that either a doctors office, hospital or a very lucky individual will get great joy from the vibrant pink and white fabrics set against a soothing gray ombre fabrics. Scattered across the top are inspiring sayings about what cancer cannot do. Please take a look for yourself below.

Making this quilt was a special experience for me. I used fabrics from V. & Co.’s Simply Color collection as well as a wonderful white tonal fabric that I have used in several pieces in the past, including the Granny Square Quilt I made for my mom, a breast cancer survivor herself, last year. I’m not sure the name of the pink with gray flower fabric though. The focus fabric in this quilt of course is the panel of sayings titled “What Cancer Cannot Do” by Block Party Studios. Using their free quilt pattern, I created this quilt fairly quickly and easily. With the assistance of my friend Mel, I did change the layout so the quilt had a more uniform look and was more appealing to the eye. I love how it turned out.

When the top was finished I was faced with the challenge of finding a long arm quilter to put her magic touch on the quilt. I posted a pic of the top on Instagram and asked if anyone was interested in quilting it for charity. I tagged two long arm quilters and the one who was scheduled to quilt a personal quilt of mine responded with a resounding, “I’ll do it!” Her name is Teresa Silva of Quilting Is My Bliss. Though we have never met personally, I consider her a friend after great correspondence via e-mail and of course the origin of our friendship, Instagram. Teresa is a gifted long arm quilter and I have drooled over her stunning work for months. Well, Teresa didn’t disappoint. Her custom work is breathtaking and the swirl pattern she executed across this quilt is perfect. I had to ask if it was custom or pantograph. I was blown away even more when she confirmed that these are her custom swirls. Thank you Teresa for your stunning work and your time.

I hope my quilt makes a pretty penny for PINK JAMS this fall!

20130915-121856.jpg

20130915-121912.jpg

20130915-121918.jpg

20130915-121927.jpg

20130915-121936.jpg

20130915-121942.jpg

20130915-121949.jpg

20130915-121955.jpg

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in Finished in 2013, Inspriation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “What Cancer Cannot Do” Quilt

  1. Teresa Silva says:

    Thank you so much for the lovely words, Karen! I was honored to be a part of this wonderful quilt. I’m so glad to have met you!

Comments are closed.