September! Where did YOU come from?

Well, HELLO there September! I can’t believe it’s the fourth day of the month already. Dang! Where did the summer go? Oh, I know! There aren’t really seasons here in the Central Valley of California so time just moves along and then, BAM!, first day of school pics flood my Facebook newsfeed. Have a great year kids!!

Along with a new month comes a new Sugar Block Club pattern from the lovely Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock. I am always so excited to check my email on the first of every month and see what Amy has planned for me. She never fails to please and this month was no exception. “Come Fly With Me” is the name of the block and it’s a nod to the beloved “Granny Square” block pattern. This is one of my favorite patterns of all time so I was happy to see Amy’s adorable pattern.

I made my block on Sunday evening after a nice little day trip to Paso Robles, CA and Birch Fabrics aka www.Fabricworm.com. The assembly of this block was a new-to-me take on the classic pattern. It came together quickly though. Of course, one of the most fan parts of making the block is fabric selection. I am primarily using a FQ Bundle of Flea Market Fancy for my print fabrics and I love pairing colorways and seeing what will work in the layout of the block. I had added some Riley Blake dots in orange and gray to my bundle and I wanted to use the orange in this block. I love how the blue square just pop in the center.

20130904-171813.jpg
I am loving how my SBC blocks are turning out and when I put them on the design wall together, I know this quilt is going to be one of my all-time and life-long favorites. I already purchased my border and backing fabrics. I chose both gray floral prints from the Flea Market Fancy collection and know that colors in the blocks will pop even more in that setting. I will sash it in Kona Snow, which is also my background fabric, and do scrappy corner stones. At least that’s my plan as of today.

20130904-171838.jpg
Only three more blocks to go before I can assemble the quilt top. That also means there are only three more months left in 2013. AHHH!!!!!!

Are you participating in the Sugar Block Club? If so, please leave a link to your blog, Flickr or Instagram so I can check out your blocks.

Happy Quilting!

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in BOM, Quilt Blogs, The Sugar Block Club and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September! Where did YOU come from?

  1. The BOM is coming along nicely. September has come super fast -Christmas is just around the corner. Hopefully with some cooler weather coming soon too.

    • Planet Books says:

      Thanks Barbara! I’m really happy with this. Pete and I are not ready for Christmas. We aren’t even ready for fall, but we are ready for FOOTBALL SEASON. šŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.