Test some block patterns? I would LOVE to!

Last fall I saw an interesting Facebook post by Quiltmaker Magazine.  They were looking for block testers and if you e-mailed them at the listed address in their post, you could be one of those people.  Guess who e-mailed Quiltmaker Mag the next moment?!  This lady!  Yup, I could have sucked, good thing I don’t, but I was notified that I was going to be a block tester for Quiltmaker Magazine’s 100 Blocks Volume 7 issue.  I was so excited and announced it to friends and family.  A couple of weeks later the process began.  I tested nine blocks using different techniques, some which were intimidating, and really enjoyed the process.

A few weeks later, I received an e-mail inviting block testers to take on an additional responsibility.  I responded immediately to the request and was now going to be making a quilt for the magazine using some of the blocks I had tested.  Quiltmaker provided the fabric for the quilt and the quilt shop I work at, Quilter’s Quarters, sponsored the quilting.  There was a chance that my quilt would be photographed and published in the issue.  I didn’t have a guarantee, but I knew the quilt would hang in Quiltmaker Magazine’s headquarters in Golden, CO.  Well, I am thrilled that a picture of my quilt was published in Vol. 7 of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks magazine!!  I received an advance copy of the magazine as well as a mug with all 100 blocks pictured on it.  How cool is that!?!  It is sitting in a place of honor on my bookshelf in my studio.

Here are some pics of the blocks I tested as well as my favorite ones of the bunch.

Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 7 will be on newsstands and available for purchase online and in quilt shops tomorrow, May 7th.  I hope you’ll go out and buy it and then try some of the beautiful blocks yourself.  Keep an eye out for my quilt!  I named my quilt “San Joaquin Valley Sunset” and I hope you like it.

Tested Blocks

Trendster

Enchanted

Hootie

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in Design Wall, Quiltmaker's 100 Blocks, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.