March? Already?

Friday morning I woke to a new email from the lovely Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock & The Sugar Block Club.  It was March already and time to make another block.  I still can’t believe that we are now four days into the third month of 2013, but we are and so, here’s my March block.  It’s called “Forget Me Not” and it is adorable!  Now, as a surprise treat, Amy has shared the pattern for March’s block in her recent blog post.  Click HERE to check it out.  If you like it enough, I hope you’ll sign up for The Sugar Block Club and join in the fun with us!

March SBC Forget Me Not

I whipped this block out quickly and really liked the on point assembly.  It took me forever to select which fabric combo I would use, but after some hemming and hawing, I decided on these.  Like I’ve said before, I am using Kona Snow and a FQ bundle of Denyse Schmidt’s Flea Market Fancy.  A couple of weeks ago I picked up the four bundles of Denyse Schmidt’s Quilter’s Quarters collection that is available at Joann’s.  Ironically, this is also the name of the quilt shop I work at here in Hanford, CA.  The quality of the fabric of course is not as nice as the quilt shop quality that Flea Market Fancy is made with but the prints are great and blend perfectly with Schmidt’s “fancier” lines.  I was able to blend some of the Quilter’s Quarters fabrics with my Chicopee FQ bundle as well as Flea Market Fancy.

Here is a pic of one of the sets.  I love how cleverly these FQ’s are sold.  It’s one solid yard of fabric that has been divided in four FQ quadrants that are printed with four prints.  BRILLIANT!

DS Quilts QQ's 1

Like I said, the Sugar Block Club’s March block came together very easily.  I am LOVING how the blocks are looking together and can’t wait to see this quilt in it’s finished state at the end of the year or beginning of 2014.  (I can’t believe I just typed 2014.)  Here’s a pic of my first three SBC blocks.  They are so CUTE!

SBC 1st 3

What have you been working on lately?  Of course I have too many projects in the pipe line right now but that’s what keeps me busy and life interesting.  I’m always learning, even from the seemingly simplest patterns.

About Lady K Quilts

You can call me Lady K! I'm a quilt maker, music lover, singer, wifey, fur mama, and lover of life, food, T.V., and movies. This blog is dedicated to my quilty world and all the people in it.
This entry was posted in BOM, Design Wall, The Sugar Block Club, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.