The Sugar Block Club’s February Block ~ North Star

Friday was a happy one for Sugar Block Club members.  It brought us the February block from Amy Gibson and for some, a bit of a surprise.  A paper-pieced pattern!  For the second block, it sure threw some for a loop.  Two of my girlfriends who signed up for SBC per my recommendation have never paper pieced in their life and expressed concern to me about whether they could be successful with this new block.  I assured them that they will be just fine and I will help them.

Yesterday I hosted an All Day Sew event at Quilter’s Quarters here in Hanford, CA and my two friends were in attendance.  After I had served a delicious lunch of Jambalaya (not planned to tie in with Super Bowl weekend and New Orleans, but a perfect coincidence), mini corn bread muffins and a Banana Cream Trifle, I set up a little sewing area and showed the ladies how to paper piece the SBC’s February block.

North Star is a great block and the paper piecing was simple for the most part.  I just have to remember when cutting my fabric in preparation, I should cut a bit larger than the cutting instructions say.  Maybe 1/4 to 1/2 and inch larger on all sides, just to be safe.  I think it’s a very approachable and doable pattern but if the fabrics don’t cover that given 1/4 inch seam allowance, it may be discouraging for the novice.

After an exhausting day I somehow caught a second wind last night and finished up the North Star block.  I think it turned out pretty darn cute, not perfect, but cute and that’s good enough for me.  I know not all my seams are matching and whatever, but I can live with that.  If I really want to remake it at some point, it doesn’t take a lot of fabric so that won’t be a problem.  Again, I’m using a fat quarter bundle of Flea Market Fancy, Kona Snow and some random fabrics from my stash to round out the color palette.

SBC #2 North Star

Funny thing is, I look at it now that I have uploaded this photo to this post, and I think my points and seams look pretty good.  Sometimes I just takes a fresh perspective!

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in BOM, Quilt Blogs, The Sugar Block Club and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sugar Block Club’s February Block ~ North Star

  1. Mel says:

    super cute!

Comments are closed.