WIP Wednesday ~ A Little Roar

I’ve decided to participate in Freshly Pieced weekly feature, WIP Wednesday, here in my Craft Room.  I think it will be a great way to log progress in ongoing projects!  I’m excited to share with y’all the projects I’m working on weekly, and believe me, I don’t think I’ll run out of projects to share.  I am insane!  LOL

Anyway, this week’s priority project is a baby quilt for one of Hubby’s employees.  We were thrilled when we learned she was preggo and the due date is late winter/early spring, so Baby will be here before we know it.  I wanted Hubby to feel involved in the process of making this baby quilt so together we picked the pattern for the quilt.  It comes from a great new book called Modern Quilts from the Blogging Universe.  The quilt pattern is called JIGSAW and it was designed and written by Amy at Amy’s Creative Side Blog.  Over the weekend we went to see that romantically lighthearted romp, ZERO DARK THIRTY, in a town east of ours.  Before the movie we popped into Beverly’s Fabrics (which we learned is closing its doors in that location) and Hubby helped me pick out an adorable print and complementary Kona solids.  I don’t usually like to use children’s fabric when making baby quilts but these little lions were too cute to ignore.

Lion Jigsaw

The pattern came together quickly and simply.  The jigsaw pieces are a perfect size and the primary colors I am using really make the quilt pop.  I am not making the full size quilt which would be a  54 1/2 inch square, but instead have shrunk it down to a 33″ x 24″ rectangle.  I feel it’s a good size for a crib, car seat and just to lay on the floor and put baby on it.  I am following the pattern and not putting a border on the quilt and will bind it in the blue fabric.  The backing fabric I got is from the same lion collection as the pieces you see above.  I am still deciding ona thread color to quilt it with.  I will probably just use my walking foot and quilt straight across the quilt so as not to distract from the jigsaw pattern of the piecing.

What are you working on this week?

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in Design Wall, WIP Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WIP Wednesday ~ A Little Roar

  1. Gina says:

    Those little lions are so cute!! Happy sewing!

  2. Emily says:

    The bright colors are wonderful, they will keep that new little baby interested in those cute lion faces.

  3. Planet Books says:

    Thanks Emily, and thanks for stopping by! I thought so too, but now I’m having trouble deciding on what thread color to use in the quilting. Any suggestions?

  4. I stopped by because you used the word amazeballs on someone else’s blog. LOL! Those lions are precious!

    • Planet Books says:

      LMAO! That’s awesome. Thanks for check out my blog and for that reason in particular.
      Thanks!! Yeah, I love these little lions too. Glad I have some extra fabric!

Comments are closed.