2012 Accomplishments…Paper Piecing

Paper piecing was a new-to-me technique that I really enjoyed learning in 2012.  I had signed up for Craftsy’s Quick Strip Paper Piecing class taught by Peggy Martin when it became available.  I didn’t start the lessons right away, but instead read the material and watched the first couple of class videos.  I purchased some foundation paper for the projects, selected fabrics from my stash and took a deep breath.  OMG, I LOVED IT!!  What a fun process strip paper piecing is!  I love the assembly line process that Peggy Martin teaches.  I have since learned that paper piecing is not always so simple and straight forward though.  I have gotten discouraged with other patterns I’ve tried but I know it can be done.

The following pictures are of wall hanging sized projects I made using the first two lessons in Peggy Martin’s class.  The precise and crisp points are so gratifying.

PP #1

PP #2

I haven’t made anything larger than these using the paper piecing technique but it’s only January.  I did sign up for Don’t Call Me Betsy’s Luck Star BOM Club last week.  I love the idea of supporting fellow bloggers, especially when they have such wonderful ideas and products.  We’ll see what comes out of that.  Her PDF’s look great and I love her blog so I’m not too worried.  I just have to figure out which fabrics to use!

Have you paper pieced?  Do you love it or hate it?  If you’ve blogged about it, please share the link in the comments below.  Thanks!!

About Lady K Quilts

You can call me Lady K! I'm a quilt maker, music lover, singer, wifey, fur mama, and lover of life, food, T.V., and movies. This blog is dedicated to my quilty world and all the people in it.
This entry was posted in BOM, Classes, Craftsy, Finished in 2012, Quilt Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.