2012 Accomplishments… a few at a time

Though I started this blog last spring with great ambition to blog about my adventures in quilt making, I obviously fell off the wagon.  That’s okay though because I’m back with new vigor, starting with the first of many posts on what lovely things I created with my own two hands in my craft room in 2012.

One of the first things I finished in 2012 was this adorable and very functional iron caddy.  I had attended a “Fabric Fondling Party” at my local quilt shop in the spring where I met a new friend, Jessica.  We noticed we were attracted to the same fabrics so naturally conversation began easily between us.

Our first “date” (Isn’t making friends as we get older like dating?  “Will she like me? Do we have anything in common?  Do we click?”  You know what I’m talking about y’all!) took place the following week back at the quilt shop.  It was a workshop where we made these cute iron caddies.  All went well with Jessica and now we are great friends.  We love to sew together and have a ton in common.  She’s a bookworm like me and we still love to shop for fabric together.

Iron CaddyThis was a fun, but at times confusing project that I have used it so much.  Quilter’s Quarters, our local quilt shop (and my employer since June!) has sew nights and all-day sew events every month and I love having my iron caddy with me so I don’t have to battle for an ironing board or even get up from my table for that matter.  It opens up to a heat-resistant mat that I can iron on without too much worry.  It holds my larger sized iron easily and Jessica and my other friend Mel like when I have it because I share with them.

2012 consisted in a lot of learning on my part.  Pattern reading and honing my style taste were a big part of that.  If you ask any of my new quilting friends here in Hanford, CA what my favorite pattern of 2012 was, they would probably tell you SWOON from Thimble Blossoms.  I admit I have never made the whole nine block quilt that the pattern gives directions for.  I chose to use the 24.5 inch block on its own with a simple border as a baby quilt.  They came together quickly and the block is a great way to show off your favorite fabrics.

This is the SWOON I made for my niece Jessica.  The mint fabric is an adorable ladybug print that I paired with a simple polka-dot fabric.  The backing is from a huge amount of yardage I got while living in Okinawa in the late 2000’s and was made into a table-cloth for a friend’s baby shower.

Niece Jessica's SWOONFlipped Corner

At the same time I was making the SWOON for Jessica I stacked and whacked fabric for my niece Genevieve Rose.  She is my sister’s daughter and the first human grandchild in my family.  We have Rocky, the nine-year old Cocker Spaniel and pride and joy of his grandparents and us.  She is all girl, as her name implies, and her mommy has always loved strawberries, so I picked very feminine and fun fabrics in pinks and reds with strawberries, cupcakes and teapots.

G Rose's SWOON  G Rose and her SWOON

I made another SWOON baby quilt for the baby shower of a new friend I met in my Beginning Quilting class in May.  She was already expecting her first child but had opted against learning the gender of her little jelly bean.  She ended up delivering a beautiful girl in August so my use of lush greens and blues worked well and would have been perfect had she been a bouncing baby boy too.  (Rocky loved the SWOON and really didn’t want me to give it away.)  I quilted the baby quilts myself on my Brother SE400.

iPhone Download 12.2012 030  Rocky loves SWOONS!

I hope you have enjoyed checking out some of the things I made in 2012.  I have more things for show & tell and will be posting about them soon.  If you would like to show & tell your finished 2012 projects, leave a link to your blog in the comments below.  Thanks for visiting my craft room!

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in Classes, Finished in 2012 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.