Diamond Stack Block by Anna @ Six White Horses

One of my favorite things to do is browse the Internets for quilting blogs.  There are so many amazing ones out there to fall in love with!  Six White Horses recently caught my eye and I thought I would give Anna’s Diamond Stack Tutorial a try yesterday.  This block is gorgeous and it lured me into trying to make it by seducing me into believing that I would enjoy making it.  How could I not enjoy making this block?!  It’s stunning and unlike any I have seen.  Well my friends, this took me all afternoon.  I was pulling out stitches and re-working seams.  I ended up with a much smaller and narrower block that the one in the tutorial.

I am proud of myself for finishing it but I don’t think I’ll be making any more anytime soon.  Maybe one day down the road when I am a lot more skilled in my piecing, but for now, I will leave it with this one block.  It was a learning experience though.  I find that my Brother SE-400 sewing/embroidery machine is easy to use but the 1/4 inch foot does not do well when having to stitch over seams that are kind of thick.  I switched to the general stitching foot and then guesstimated my 1/4 inch seam.  I need to get some tape or post-it strip on my machine.

Looking at the back of my block you can see where the seams are switched to the other side and that is because of the 1/4 inch foot.  Pain in my ass!  Do you have this problem?  If so, what do you do to guarantee that your seams stay in the direction you pressed them in?  Any tips are welcome.  Thanks!

Have you ever challenged yourself with a block you found on-line or in a book and found yourself very frustrated and disappointed when things don’t turn out the way the instructions say they should?  Misery loves company!

About Planet Books

Planet Books is the perfect medium for me to talk about the books that I am reading, host authors and book blog tours and share about the music I love and the food I make. I hope you'll settle in and check it out!
This entry was posted in Inspriation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.